Your Voice will Make a Difference!

Please add your voice to the hundreds who have already called and emailed the state agencies who will need to grant permits for this mass cutting of the Maritime Forest to take place. DHEC and the US Army Corps of Engineers do take public input very seriously and we need everyone possible to let them know they should DENY these cutting permits. Remember to keep all correspondence courteous and professional.

Tell them “I strongly oppose cutting our SI Maritime Forest and accreted land.”

DHEC-OCRM

Elizabeth Von Kolnitz, Chief, DHEC-OCRM
(843) 953-0252
vonkoleb@dhec.sc.gov

US ARMY CORPS OF ENGINEERS

Travis Hughes, Corps of Engineers
(843) 329-8044
travis.g.hughes@usace.army.mil

Contact State and U.S. Representatives

  • SC Senator “Chip” Campsen (843) 722-0123
  • SC Representative “Joe” Bustos (803) 212-6880
  • U.S. Representative Nancy Mace (843) 521-2530 or (202) 225-3176

Contact Town Officials

The Town Council of Sullivan’s Island passed this controversial cutting policy as a binding arbitration during the middle of the pandemic. The documents were only shared with the public 48-hours before they were passed by the slimmest of votes: 4-3. Please contact the councilmembers and let them know how much you value the Maritime Forest. Remember to keep all correspondence courteous and professional.

Tell them “I strongly oppose cutting our SI Maritime Forest and accreted land.”

Councilmembers Who Voted to Cut the Forest

Chauncey Clark: cclark@sullivansisland.sc.gov
Greg Hammond: ghammond@sullivansisland.sc.gov
Kaye Smith: ksmith@sullivansisland.sc.gov
Tim Reese: treese@sullivansisland.sc.gov

Councilmembers who Voted to Save the Forest

Mayor Pat O’Neil: oneilp@sullivansisland.sc.gov
Sarah Church: sarahforsullivans@gmail.com
Bachman Smith: bsmith@sullivansisland.sc.gov

Town Administration

Andy Benke: abenke@sullivansisland.sc.gov